Colored Diamond Grading

The value of colored diamonds is based on rarity of color; followed by color intensity. The more intense the color, the greater the value and individual colors have greater value than a diamond with a secondary hue. Cut and clarity are not as important when choosing colored diamonds as it is with white diamonds.

White diamonds are graded from D to Z while fancy colored diamonds are graded by Light, Fancy Light, Fancy, Fancy Intense, Fancy Deep, and Fancy Vivid.

How are Fancy Colored Diamonds graded?

Fancy Colored Diamonds Color Scale

Color is graded in a different way for fancy color diamonds. While white diamonds receive a grade of D to Z, based on the yellow or brown tint present, fancy color diamonds are graded on the intensity of its color.
Instead of a letter, the grade for fancy color diamonds goes from “Faint” to “Fancy Vivid” The color scale is as such:

  • Faint
  • Very Light
  • Light
  • Fancy Light
  • Fancy
  • Fancy Intense
  • Fancy Deep
  • Fancy Vivid

To use fancy yellow diamonds as an example, a diamond with a “Faint” grade would be slightly more yellow than a Z grade white diamond. While a Fancy Intense or Fancy Vivid yellow diamond has a deep, almost golden hue.

Fancy Vivid and Fancy Deep diamonds are equivalent grades but differ in how bright the color is. Fancy Vivid diamonds have a brighter hue than a Fancy Deep.

Fancy Vivid or Fancy Intense diamonds are often the most sought-after fancy colored diamonds, and thus are usually the most expensive, whereas Faint or Light colors are more common and cheaper.

Still have a question? Get in touch with us today!

Contact us